Television can, and has, turned out good sci-fi — but these days too often settles for something much less. Ask Doug Payton. He’s trying to find intelligent, grown-up sci-fi he can watch with his kids. The search is proving a bit frustrating.

I’d also love to have some family-friendly imaginative fare. And I don’t mean fluff. I mean like, for instance, what Rod Serling turned out in The Twilight Zone. Yes, he was at least something of a genius and absolutely an original and we won’t see his like again, but he aimed high, not only with technique and acting talent but with ideas. No gutter stuff for him. He didn’t bother with junk.

Is it really too much to ask that television producers not set out to produce junk? That they not try to make their ‘heroes’ sleazy? Fallible, sure. Quirky, why not? Sleazy? Boo.

I know the talent is out there. I hate seeing so much of it misused to promote unhealthy stuff. I’d love to see it used to tackle society’s problems, not help create them.

Silly me, right?

